Hampshire T20 Blast Update


Posted by News Editor

Posted in News




Middlesex v Hampshire

NatWest T20 Blast

Thursday 3rd August (18:15 – 21:15)



Hampshire v Essex Eagles

NatWest T20 Blast

Friday 4th August (19:00 – 22:00)

The Ageas Bowl

Hampshire travel to Lord’s to take on Middlesex on Thursday evening before returning to the Ageas Bowl to host the Essex Eagles 24 hours later in two crucial NatWest T20 Blast clashes remaining this week.

Hampshire Squad:

Hampshire have named an unchanged 15-man squad from the narrow defeat suffered against Kent Spitfires on Tuesday evening.

Reece Topley, Sean Ervine, Fidel Edwards and Brad Wheal are all included alongside the final XI that featured at the Ageas Bowl earlier this week.

The Opposition:

Middlesex currently sit sixth in an extremely tight South Group, just one point behind Hampshire who are fourth. Brendon McCullum’s side have had a mixed tournament so far, winning three of their nine group games, and they head into this tie with one win their last four games after defeats to Surrey and Somerset.

Essex have had a largely disappointing T20 Blast campaign so far, sitting eighth in the South Group, yet are only three points off the fourth qualification spot. They have been frustrated by the weather recently with two of the last three matches being abandoned, but Ryan ten Doeschate’s side can be a dangerous outfit on their day, with their most recent victory in the competition coming against Hampshire at Chelmsford last month.

Did You Know?

·         Hampshire have won four of their last six away games; five of those games have been won by the side to bat first.

·         Each of the last eight meetings between Hampshire and Middlesex have been won by the team batting first on the day.

·         James Vince has recorded four half-centuries against Essex Eagles in this format, more than he has against any other team in his T20 career.

Full Hampshire Squad:

James Vince (14) Captain Lewis McManus (18)
Reece Topley (6) Shahid Afridi (00)
Mason Crane (32) Tom Alsop (9)
George Bailey (10) Rilee Rossouw (30)
Gareth Berg (13) Fidel Edwards (82)
Sean Ervine (7) Kyle Abbott (87)
Liam Dawson (8) Brad Wheal (58)
Chris Wood (25)



Live text commentary will be available via the Hampshire Cricket Twitter and Facebook pages.