Concert Series Back


Posted by News Editor

Posted in News



The International Concert Series 2018-19 kicks off at The Anvil tonight (Tuesday 2 October) with the return of the Russian State Symphony Orchestra and a beautiful programme of music.

Vasily Petrenko conducts and talented British violinist Chloë Hanslip joins the orchestra.


Vasily Petrenko

The evening begins with Tchaikovsky’s ever-popular Swan Lake ballet which suite contains some of his most memorable music. This is followed by Prokofiev’s wonderful violin concerto, written at the same time as the Classical Symphony.

It contains some of the most gorgeous and rhapsodic music he ever composed, with the two outer movements divided by a short, spiky scherzo.


Finally, Rachmaninov’s Second Symphony is a richly scored, full-blooded masterpiece. The four movements move from darkness and doubt through a famously beautiful slow movement, to a joyous outburst of celebration in the finale.


Chloë Hanslip

Tickets for the Russian State Symphony Orchestra are priced £41, £37, £30, £23, £15; under 25s and f/t students £11 (includes £3 booking fee). For more information or for tickets, call the Anvil Arts box office on 01256 844244, or visit

Bookers should note, there is a pre-concert talk at 6.30pm in The Forge, with Jonathan James in conversation. To book your free ticket(s), please call the box office on 01256 844244.